Running Olive the Way

Craisin for Cookies

Posted on: June 12, 2010

Hi again!

So I am back and my mixer is still running.  So since I started this whole blog thing I have been reading LOTS of other peoples blogs.  There are so many talented people out there! A shout out to some of my fellow blog buddies is over on the side there…go on check it out. But make sure you come back! Well I came across this wonderful recipe for cowgirl cookies from here.  These inspired me to make my own version.  I  am calling my cookies Craisin for Cookies.  Now when I went to go make the cookies I realized after I had all the other ingredients in the bowl that I did not  have any baking powder…umm who needs that anyway?!  Turns out these cookies really did not need it and they were soft, chewy and delicious.  How do I know they are delicious you ask? Well papa bear HATES pretty much anything healthy and since these had  Craisins, which were covered in chocolate (I know… NOT even healthy!) he decided he did not like them before he took one bite.  I forced him to try half a cookie and well,  he ate about 3 more! I guess he likes them after all.

Craisin for Cookies

Me love cookie!

Pre heat over to 350 degrees

1 1/3 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup cooking oats
3/4 chocolate covered Craisins
3/4 cup mini chocolate chips
1/2 cup brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup white sugar
1/3 – 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Stir all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.

Then mix in 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 1 lightly beaten egg, and 1 stick of slightly melted butter. I started with a spoon then switched to the best kitchen tool, my nice clean hands.  Once everything is incorporated roll dough into 1 inch balls  and place on a cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.  Pop them in the over for 10-12 minutes depending on your over.  Let cool and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower

